The State of Indiana through legislation, (Indiana Code 5-2-10.1-10);  has mandated that each Indiana County establish a county safe school commission which is to be comprised of school officials, school safety specialists, and public officials who are responsible for school safety; the prevention and reporting of juvenile crime in schools; the assessment of children at risk; improving communications among agencies that work with children; and methods to improve security and emergency preparedness.  


School Safety - Technology Forum will be held on Wednesday, February 12, 2020, beginning at 9:30AM, in the Lake County Sheriff’s Department Training Room. This meeting will focus discussions on the development of the Lake County School Emergency Response Center and common challenges faced by all School Technology Departments.


The next meeting of the Lake County Safe School Commission will be held on Tuesday, March 17, 2020, at 9:30AM. 


If you are a Lake County School Administrator, Public Safety or Law Enforcement Official involved in or responsible for school security or safety programs and you would like more information about the Lake County Safe Schools Commission please contact one of the Board members noted below:

Lake County Safe Schools Commission Board Members;

*Mike O’Donnell - Hanover Township School Corporation - Director of School Safety

*Vince Balbo - Lake County Sheriff’s Department - Chief Deputy

*Julie Pearson - School City of Whiting - Principal

*Jerry Patrick - Lake Central School Corporation - School Resource Officer


© 2020 Lake County Sheriff